PHILOPTOCHOS AWARDS HONOR PARISH YOUTH FOR ACADEMIC ACHIEVEMENT, SERVICE & COMMITMENT

~ Deadline is April 21, 2024 ~

For more than four decades, the Philoptochos Society has presented over 150 awards to our community's young people to recognize their accomplishments across a broad spectrum of involvement from a love of the arts, academic achievement, service to others, and more.

The scholarship funds were established to recognize several of our community's most treasured former members by their families. Each is given with particular emphasis on the areas of life that were important to those in whose name the awards are given.

45th James Salas/Maria Salas Papoulias ~ Academic Performance

38th Nicholas and Effee Voss ~ Leadership & Scholastic Performance

20th Dr. Demetre/Ann Hoty Decaneas ~ Leadership & Community Service

11th Cynthia Speare Zervas ~ Excellence in Academics & Extra-Curricular

7th Second Lieutenant Ian Thomas McVey USMC ~

Service and Devotion to St. Demetrios, Family, and Community

7th Bessie Coclin ~ Devotion to Orthodox Ministries &/or Love of Music

7th Souris & Spencer Families ~ Giving Back to Church & Community

7th Peter George Liacopulos ~ Commitment to Core Values of Faith, Education & Hard Work

5th Helen C. Makris ~ Education, Public Service &/or the Arts

Peter James Condakes Award ~ Presented to <u>All</u> Senior Altar Servers

All awards are available to both graduate and undergraduate students and are to be used for any educational expenses. Applicant or applicant's family must have been members in good standing of our parish for at least the last two years, must be enrolled or accepted into a degree-granting, accredited college/university in the U.S., and must be a U.S. citizen.

The deadline for applications is <u>Sunday, April 21, 2023</u>. Applications obtained: 1) on Philoptochos page Resources/Scholarships at: <u>http://www.stdemetriosweston.org/philoptochos/</u> 2) by email request to Nancy Agris Savage at <u>NancyASavage@gmail.com</u> or 3) by calling the church office at 781-237-5561 to have one mailed.

> Nancy Agris Savage, Chair; Kathy Damaskos, Ex Officio, Philippa Condakes, Amalie George, Carol Loridas, Eugenia Kourlos, Mary Ann Pappanikou, Matina Pappas